Charlie’s advent Calendar: Day 13 – Saffron cake 2.0

 

img_7090

Christmas is just days away, but I must confess I don’t really feel the Christmas spirit this year, I don’t know why – if its due to stress, sickness or what. I have a million things on my plate right now, and I’m heading back home in a few days and the deadlines hanging upon me are endless and the time is very limited, but yet here I’m currently writing a blog post on a train, while heading into work.

I made a similar post last year, during my 12 days of Christmas, but this is an upgraded version and to tell the truth I found this cake rather heavenly, the taste of smoked scotch whiskey, lemon and saffron is a match made in heaven. So why don’t try it out as it’s a super easy cake to bake as well.

3 eggs

1 cup/2.5 dl of sugar

0.4 cups/ 1 dl of milk

0.5 g of ground saffron

1/2 stick/ 50 grams of butter

2 tsp of baking powder

1.4 cups/3.5 dl of flour

a pinch of salt

1 tbsp scotch whiskey

peel of half a lemon, preferrably organic

img_7135

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F/175°c.
  2. Whisk eggs and sugar until white and fluffy.
  3. Heat the milk and saffron..
  4. Add butter and let the butter melt.
  5. add the scotch whiskey and lemon peel
  6. Add the milk mixture into the egg mixture.
  7. Add the rest of the ingredients. 8. Grease a baking mold.
  8. Bake for about 25 min.
  9. Let cool.
  10. Done!

img_7103

 

hohoho

Charlie xx

Leave a Reply

